Shorty Awards Announce Twitter Finalists and Category Sponsors

“Oscars of Twitter” narrows down Twitter users in 26 categories

NEW YORK,  — Over 250,000 nominations have been tweeted for The Shorty Awards to determine the six finalists in each of the 26 official categories. The winners will be announced on March 3, 2010 at the TheTimesCenter in The New York Times Building, thanks to support from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

The Shorty Awards has partnered with sponsors including PepsiCo for the Innovation category, Marketwire for the Journalist category and Porter Novelli for the Advertising category.

Some notable finalists include Haiti resident and TV presenter Carel Pedre @carelpedre, actor Steven Fry @stevenfry, Grammy Award-winning Brazilian singer Ivete Sangalo @ivetesangalo, personal finance TV host and author Suze Orman @SuzeOrmanShow, actor and comedian Marlon Waynes @marlonwayans and MythBuster co-host Adam Savage @donttrythis. Notable organizations that are finalists include NASA @NASA, Whole Foods @WholeFoods and Sesame Street @sesamestreet.

"This year’s diverse group of finalists shows the global impact Twitter users are having across all topics of media,” said Gregory Galant, the CEO of Sawhorse Media, which created the Shorty Awards.

The Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts & Sciences, comprised of leaders in technology, journalism, business and culture, will determine the winners from amoung the finalists:

Advertising: Frank Adman @FrankAdman, Dave Saunders @madmain, Amy Lupold Bair @ResourcefulMom, iwearyourshirt @iwearyourshirt, Aimee Woodall @aimeewoodall, Ad Broad @adbroad
Apps: HootSuite @HootSuite, mr. unfollowr @unfollowr, COLOURlovers @colourlovers, TweetDeck @TweetDeck, MailChimp @MailChimp, AggreTweet @AggreTweet
Art: Lar deSouza @lartist, deviantART @deviantART, BZTAT @BZTAT, Jaime @wojo4hitz, BROOKLYNNNNNN! @artsySFvibe, Johanna Harness @johannaharness
Brand: Whole Foods Market @WholeFoods, Austin Prime @AustinPrime, Sesame Street @sesamestreet, aussieBum @aussieBum, Anne Agoren @izzibag, Marvel Entertainment @Marvel
Celebrity: Ivete Sangalo @ivetesangalo, Nathan Fillion @NathanFillion, Claudia Leitte @ClaudiaLeitte, Angel Locsin @143redangel, Stephen Fry @stephenfry, David Hewlett @dhewlett
Cultural Institution: Jonah Holland @lewisginter, Phoenix Zoo @PhoenixZoo, RSC @TheRSC, Editora Novitas @Editoranovitas, Reduced Shakespeare @reduced, Poetry Society @Poetry_Society
Customer Service: thinkgeek @thinkgeek, Team McLaren @McLaren_eShop, ComcastBonnie @ComcastBonnie, Shani Sammons @ShaniSammons, Mike Johansson @mikefixs, rogersmithhotel @RSHotel
Design: Smashing Magazine @smashingmag, lasertron @lasertron, Joshua Davis @JoshuaDavis, designerscouch @designerscouch, CLOCK WORK CROS @BlingCrosby, iD3sign & Co. @iD3SIGNandCo
Entertainment: MythBusters Official @MythBusters, Richard Castle @WriteRCastle, TrueBloodHBO @TrueBloodHBO, Castle TV.net @CastleTV, Unofficial M.E. @UnofficialME, Foforks @foforks
Finance: Suze Orman @SuzeOrmanShow, The Dave Ramsey Show @ramseyshow, Mint.com @mint, Ashraf Laidi @alaidi, Rob Garcia @robgarciasj, bullsonwallstreet @bullsonwallst
Food: Rick Bayless @Rick_Bayless, Tyler Florence @TylerFlorence, Florentina @CiaoFlorentina, Foodimentary @Foodimentary, NoReservations @NoReservations, Amy Cao @amyblogschow
Government: NASA @NASA, Virginia State Parks @VAStateParks, Cory Booker @CoryBooker, NavyNews @NavyNews, U.S. Marines @USMC, Israel Los Angeles @IsraelLA
Health: Dr Rachael Dunlop @DrRachie, Dr. Mercola @mercola, Rebecca Joyce @bubblybex, Kevin Gianni @kevingianni, a diabetes community @tudiabetes, kristinebrite @kristinebrite
Humor: marlon wayans @MARLONLWAYANS, lil duval @lilduval, David Thorne @27bslash6, Mrs Stephen Fry @MrsStephenFry, Paula Poundstone @paulapoundstone, Kingsley @kingsleyyy
Innovation: Artfire @Artfire, Betty Draper @bettydraper, Dan Zarrella @danzarrella, Carel Pedre @carelpedre, LAGenX @LAGenX, iDUMP4U® Official @iDUMP4U
Journalist: William Bonner @realwbonner, jeremy scahill @jeremyscahill, Rachel Maddow MSNBC @maddow, Daniel Razon @DanielRazon, Dan Matteush @Matteush, Steven Ertelt @StevenErtelt
Literature: Neil Gaiman @neilhimself, Arjun Basu @arjunbasu, Rebecca Woodhead @rebeccawoodhead, Warren Ellis @warrenellis, Sherrilyn Kenyon @kenyonsherrilyn, David Thorne @27bslash6
Music: Hayley Williams @yelyahwilliams, Ivete Sangalo @ivetesangalo, Theodore F. Leo @tedleo, Justin Bieber @justinbieber, Britney Spears @britneyspears, MC Frontalot @mc_frontalot
News: Lei Seca RJ @LeiSecaRJ, The Diane Rehm Show @drshow, The Coast Halifax @TwitCoast, SocialBlade @socialblade, Dino DeMilio @dino101, Capitol Circle @CapitolCircle
Nonprofit: TWLOHA @TWLOHA, Frugal Dougal @frugaldougal, Shaun King @ShaunKing, Alex's Lemonade @AlexsLemonade, The Trevor Project @TrevorProject, PETA @peta
Politics: Ali Abunimah @avinunu, David @JIDF, RayBeckerman @RayBeckerman, Políticos do Brasil @Twiticos, The Nation @thenation, Matt Laslo @MattLaslo
Science: Adam Savage @donttrythis, Twisst ISS alerts @twisst, Spirit and Oppy @MarsRovers, Grant Imahara @grantimahara, Newbury Astronomy @NewburyAS, Jen Scheer @flyingjenny
Sports: Liverpool Supporters @empireofthekop, São Paulo FC @spfc, Bill Simmons @sportsguy33, Arthur Muhlenberg @urublog, San Francisco 49ers @SF_49ers, Flamengo @CR_Flamengo
Tech: SoldierKnowsBest @SoldierKnowBest, Jon Rettinger @Jon4Lakers, MakeUseOf @MakeUseOf, Itsmemorphious @itsmemorphious, Thorsten Zoerner @zoernert, Mitsuteru Nishio @Mite_Nishio
Travel: Richmond Airport RIC @Flack4RIC, twitchhiker @twitchhiker, Lucy Izon / Canada @CanadaCool, NewYorkology @NewYorkology, CruiseSource.us @cruisesource, Julia Dimon @juliadimon
Weird: David McDonald @rfeastsidedave, The Llama @DoWhatITellYou, Osama Ben Marvin @benmarvin, gabfrab @gabfrab, Page Not Found @BlogPageNFound, alex kapranos @alkapranos

To learn out more about the awards, vote, or purchase tickets, visit ShortyAwards.com.

About the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation advances journalism in the digital age and invests in the vitality of communities where the Knight brothers owned newspapers. Since 1950, the foundation has granted more than $400 million to advance quality journalism and freedom of expression. Knight Foundation focuses on projects that promote informed, engaged communities and lead to transformational change. For more, visit www.knightfoundation.org.

About Sawhorse Media
Sawhorse Media filters, curates, and makes sense of the real-time web by creating fun, engaging, and useful products. Sawhorse sites include the directory of Twitter people and lists Listorious, the leading destination for journalists on Twitter Muck Rack, and a network of more than a dozen vertical Twitter sites. For more, visit www.sawhorsemedia.com.

About the Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts and Science
The Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts & Sciences, comprised of leaders in technology, journalism, business and culture, will play a role in choosing the winners from the groups of finalists. The group includes Knight Foundation President and CEO Alberto Ibargüen, novelist and public radio host Kurt Andersen, Flickr cofounder Caterina Fake, entertainer MC Hammer, Creative Commons CEO Joi Ito, actress Alyssa Milano, MIT Media Lab Director Frank Moss, Craigslist founder Craig Newmark, New York Times columnist David Pogue Columbia Journalism School Dean of Student Affairs Sree Sreenivasan and Wikipedia founder Jimmy Wales. For more, visit www.rtacademy.org.

Media Contacts:

  • Lisa Gruber, Porter Novelli; 212-601-8358; lisa.gruber@porternovelli.com
  • Marc Fest, Knight Foundation; 305-908-2677; fest@knightfoundation.org

About the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

Knight Foundation supports transformational ideas that promote quality journalism, advance media innovation, engage communities and foster the arts. We believe that democracy thrives when people and communities are informed and engaged. For more, visit www.knightfoundation.org.